Will You Be My Facebook Friend…Again

Your PC HelperWill you be my Facebook friend…again? That is the question many on Facebook are being asked to make. It seems that Facebook is being flooded by imposters. Many people are being requested to  re-friend people they thought they were already friends with…and they are! Why do people put so much time and effort into trying to impersonate your friends?

Facebook privacy settings are fairly straight forward for what they are. Sharing with “Everyone” or sharing with “Friends”. That may be over simplifying an already simple process but you get what I mean. In order to see your timeline a person needs to be your “friend” or a “friend of a friend”. This is important since what is being attempted here is becoming your friend.

Once they have become a friend they have you. Access to what you post, personal information you share, the ability to send you links and pictures. This is all it takes since that first link you click on is the Trojan Horse that gets your malware experience rolling. It no longer takes downloading a computer program to become infected. Once you click on a link and visit a web page things can automatically download to your computer without you ever knowing it happened. This new tactic of drive-by downloading is all the rage in today’s malware world.

Drive-By Download

computer techThe drive-by download has become one of the more popular ways to distribute malware. What better way to distribute malware than to simply upload it to unaware computers as they browse by? Many software companies will use the drive-by download method to get their product on your computer. Ever wonder how all that software you have never seen before got there? You may be a victim of the drive-by download.

Just the ability to send you malvertising ads and links to dangerous web sites is reason enough for malware developers and companies using questionable marketing methods to pose as a friend on Facebook. There are other reasons to. Like the likelihood of you using a product or program if it is recommended by a friend. After all people are 10 times more likely to do something if it is recommended by someone they know.

Real Look System Warnings For Your Permission

You have to admit that malware developers are crafty and determined. One way that malware is distributed is by the use of banners that so realistically resemble actual Windows messages that real techs often have to take a second look to be sure. Some of these messages are update messages for Adobe Reader, Flash, or Windows itself. Once you click one of these messages you have given permission for software to be installed on your computer. It may not be dangerous but in the very least it is a PuP that you don’t want or need.

It All Started With a Facebook Friend Request

To think of all the different ways that your computer is at risk that it all started with a seemingly harmless friends request from someone you thought you were already friends with. Between malvertising banners and links on legitimate websites like Facebook to false friend requests that look as real as Sunday. It is becoming more difficult every day to keep you and your computer safe. Having someone at your back may not be the worst of ideas just in case you find yourself facing an unwelcomed intruder on your computer. No wonder 1 in 3 computers on the Internet is infected with some type of malware.

 

The following two tabs change content below.
Brad is a true PC Helper. Having worked on computers since 1988 he's not only experienced at what he does but puts the computer owner above all else. Owning a computer should be a fun and a safe experience. That is the whole mission of the PC Helper program, taking care of you and your computer.

Author: pchelper

Brad is a true PC Helper. Having worked on computers since 1988 he's not only experienced at what he does but puts the computer owner above all else. Owning a computer should be a fun and a safe experience. That is the whole mission of the PC Helper program, taking care of you and your computer.

1 thought on “Will You Be My Facebook Friend…Again”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *